Ads Top

Court Remands Alleged 13 Lagos Banks' Armed Robbery Suspects

Today Monday, March 21, 2016, an Ebute-metta Chief Magistrate's Court, ordered the remand of 13 armed robbery suspects, who were alleged to be the brain behind several bank robbery that happened in Lagos state between March 2015 and March 2016.

Those ordered to be remanded in prisons custody includes; Clement Abanara, 42: Dennis Njoku, 30: Ebi Blessing, 28: Sunday Olotu, 33: John Sabajoh, 35: Idowu Sobijoh, 32: Ainriyemipate Joseph Wisdom, 27.

Others include: Opeyemi Balogun, 32: Olamilekan Morounkeji, 32: Ayodeji Fanimeye, 40: Mike Adebayo, 57: Monsuru Ahmed Adisa, 46: and Daniel Ukaeju, 50. This order was given by Chief Magistrate O. I. Adelaja (Mrs.)

It was averred by Chief Superintendent of Police, the Officer-in-Charge of legal department of Lagos state Police Command, Mr. Eno-Edobor A and Barrister Goddey Osuyi that all the 13 suspected armed robbers took part in banks' robberies that happened in Lagos and Ogun state between March 2015 and March 2016.

In seeking for remand of the suspected armed robbers, both Edobor A. and Osuyi informed the court that the application was pursuant to section 264(1) and (2) of the Administration of Criminal Justice of Lagos State, 2011.

The dou further informed the court that the remand application is supported with a nine-paragraph affidavit deposed to by one Dele Ojo Odunnayo, of Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, of the Command.

The police prosecution therefore urged the court to remand the suspected armed robbers in prisons custody for the first 30 days to enable the Directorate of Public Prosecution, DPP, to issue an advice on the alleged crime.

Consequently, the presiding Chief Magistrate, Mrs. Adeleja, ordered that all the 13 armed robbery suspects be remanded in prisons custody till May 11.

In the charge, the police alleged that all the suspects on October 13, 2015, while armed with AK47, Diamante and other offensive weapons robbed the 4th Avenue Festac branch of Diamond Bank and Access Bank of N27 million and N29 million respectively.

They were also alleged to have on June 18, 2015, while armed with same dangerous weapons robbed First Bank Plc the sum N19 million, $3,470 USD, and €40 Euros. And on March 12, 2015, robbed the Lekki branch of FCMB the sum of N26,005,664.00 million.

The armed robbery suspects were also alleged to have on June 24, 2015 attacked and robbed the Ipakodo branch of First Bank Plc the sum of N19 million, $2, 759 USD, and £120 Pound Sterling. And a branch of Zenith Bank Plc the sum of N80,524,102 million.

The police further alleged that the robbery suspects had on November 19, 2015 at about 9.30am attacked the Agbara branch of Zenith bank Plc. and disposed it of N110 million.

They were also accused of killing three police officers who were on official duty at Lekki branch of FCMB on March 12, 2015. The officers include: Inspector Bethel Agbodu: Sergeant Odehohwo and Corporal Imoisu Ikechukwu.

The offences according to the prosecution are contrary to and punishable under sections 295(2) and 231: 295(2): and 221 of the Criminal laws of Lagos state of Nigeria, 2011.

No comments:

Shybellmedia. Powered by Blogger.